My Marketing Week…Live

20140625_141220

Yesterday I attended this exhibition:

20140625_114227

Just like last week when I attended Internet World 2014, I went to learn, to network and introduce myself to the marketing world (check out my LinkedIn profile: http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=221665836&trk=spm_pic).

 

One panel discussion I attended was this one:

2014-06-25 11.56.34

What was discussed – 2014 being the year of content marketing. Andy Edge, Commercial Director at Odeon & UCI Cinemas stated that: Content is about the tone of voice and getting it right – don’t forget to be human”. I agree with that statement because the message you are trying to convey to your audience, to your customer needs to be one that they will understand, it needs to have the human touch. As tone of voice is paramount what I would add is semiotics plays a vital part in this.

Semiotics is the study of signs. By this I mean not just visual signs like traffic lights or posters but signs in language. For example metaphors, analogies, symbolism – all can be part of semiotics, part of linguistics and can help convey tone of voice.

 

When Andy Edge and Ben Carter, Marketing Director at notonthehightstreet.com, were asked their best marketing tip for 2014, their responses were clear and to the point:

Keep it simple, keep focused on the customer” – Andy Edge.

Don’t ignore your gut instinct but listen to the data. Data can give you the content you need” – Ben Carter.

I agree with both statements because they can play a pivotal role in telling the marketing story, keeping the customer satisfied.  However, you have to be careful with how you use and manage the data you have as you do not want to cross the line of being intrusive.

 

It was great getting an insight from two highly respected marketing professionals and just helped spur on my marketing dream. I began thinking to myself that one day I will be an exhibitor not a visitor and I will be doing a presentation to and for my marketing peers.

 

Emmanuel  #EKsMarketingViews

 

 

20140625_115511

Leave a Reply

